The Thing You Must Do.

This morning I awoke to an email from a Navy seaman friend of mine who I haven’t spoken to in months. It was awesome to hear from her. Before entering the Navy she and I had been writing buddies. We actually shared a blog (monalisasmiles) on blogspot. She is one of the most inspirational writers I know. Her email to me was profound, but what stuck out the most were these words: “You Must Write. The laughter, the ugly, and the beautiful.”

In the moment I agreed. I was ready to share every truth nestled within me. Of course they’re my personal truths but no one can expose my inner truths better than me. Then an unexpected thing happened. I began to think of all the “reasons” I’m not worthy enough to share my writing. I’m not popular. I’m not skinny. I’m not rich. It really unsettled me. So much so that when the time came for my head to hit the pillow, I couldn’t sleep. Then it hit me. I realized the truth. I must write but I also must be willing to do so much more.

The thing is at least for me, I don’t have to measure my life by how many likes I get on Facebook. I’ve wondered away from the purpose in being. It’s not to be loved or hated but to be fully alive. I have a voice. I have a story. I have an opportunity to share. I live with the tools I need to be a part of affecting this earth. So hi I’m Brittaney. I’m queer, I’m Black, I’m fat, and I am a woman. I present many qualities that have been misrepresented in the world. By God’s grace I am still here. For this reason I can’t shut up. It’s not just writing! It’s speaking up, taking up space, striving, living intentionally, and the list goes on… these are the things that I must do. No one else can do it for me. Thanks for stopping by and let’s talk again soon.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. La Vinu
    Jul 18, 2016 @ 23:05:07

    I love the phrasing that your friend used in this post. “You must write.” It makes it seem as if the need for you to write is an urgent requirement for you to continue living. To me this is a strong sign that there is integrity in you and it shows in your writing. So, I wholeheartedly agree with your friend, because the world needs more voices being heard that can be backed up by integrity. Never stop being courageous enough to share yourself with the world.

    Thank you so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

