It’s All in What You Do?

I’ve been wanting to move back to New York for awhile. It wasn’t until about March of 2016 when I concretely decided that I was relocating. Once I decided to come back I remembered that a former employer of mine told me that I could return at anytime. It’s important to mention that I had worked with this company for almost two years and it was one of the most rewarding job experiences of my life. I hadn’t earned much financially, but I was thrilled to go in to work.

This is why when my former employer said they’d be happy to have me back I was super stoked! I’d have a job lined up and it would be with this particular company. As soon as I confirmed my position I told four people that I was going back. Three of them said… “damn.” They were all upset for me! The fourth person who also happened to be the last, reacted really supportively. I recounted how everyone else seemed upset for me. It made me feel as if going back was bad or wrong. After sharing my feelings with the fourth person we both agreed then and there. We wouldn’t let what we do define who we were. Instead we’d let who we were optimize what we do.

The thing is at least for me, value is not defined by a job title. I’ve been through several job experiences in the past few years. I’ve made more money in some but it didn’t make them a good fit. I am in no way saying that making more money equals job misery while making less means job liberation. What I am saying is that from this point forward I’m going to go with positions that align with my passions and desires. For me it’s not what you do that’s unique it’s why you do it. Thanks for stopping by and let’s talk again soon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DEBORAH A DIXON
    Jul 16, 2016 @ 23:41:31

    I am so happy for you. What we talked about is coming true. Do you remember?

    Reply

  2. Inspired
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 16:09:15

    I love this post!

    I have always felt that being who you are is the key to happiness in every situation. It’s upsetting to think about how most people just follow the general belief that you should be defined by status and not how comfortable you are in your own skin. However, it posts like this that allow others to start seeing that there is a better way. Growing up I was so conflicted with the world and so indecisive about my role in the big scheme of things, but I have truly been blessed to come to my own place of acceptance. Who I am has taken me my whole life to create so now I have the rest of my life to enjoy and mature that inner being. I hope that I will see a day when everyone can honestly say that they love who they are, what they do, and how it feels to be themselves, but, even if I don’t, I am satisfied knowing that there are at least a few other people in this world that aren’t afraid to embrace their real selves and own it like you did with this message.

    Thank you for sharing you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

